Anstruther HarbourAnstruther gained its Royal Charter in 1587 and comprises Anstruther Easter & Wester, Cellardyke and Kilrenny. In its heyday, Anstruther was one of the busiest ports in the East Neuk and is steeped in history. Even with the general decline of the Fishing industry Anstruther is still a great attraction because of the Scottish Fisheries Museum. The museum is housed in old domestic buildings and also in the 16th century site used by the monks from Balmerino Abbey.
It is best to explore Anstruther on foot and a walk through the old streets will recapture the names and history of days from a bygone age. The Dreel River forms the boundary between Anstruther Easter & Wester and in olden days was guarded by the Dreel Castle. The Parish Church of Easter was built in 1634 and dedicated to St. Adrian.
Robert Louis Stevenson stayed in nearby Cunzie House while his father was working on the new outer wall of the harbor in 1868. The seafaring Anstruther must have made great impression on the young author.
Anstruther Wester Church The cottage where Thomas Chalmers was born in 1780 stands off the High Street. He was instrumental in forming the Free Church of Scotland. Other famous people from Anstruther include; Lt. Andrew Waid who bequeathed his fortune in 1804 to establish Waid Academy for the benefit of local education. William Tennant ( 1784-1848), who was born in the High Street and became Professor of Oriental Languages at St Andrews University. James Goodsir who was born at the Hermitage and became the Conservator of the Museum of College of Surgeons.
Cellardyke which was previously named Nether Kilrenny and Skinfasthaven has a beautiful and charming harbor and narrow winding streets.